flexgeek

First Preview – colrful desktop

Posted on: January 28, 2009

I have been toying with the idea of building an AIR app that would do something more than the usual flickr photo searching. That’s when I came across this cool application from Idée labs .

I just spent a couple of days to something similar using Adobe AIR and Flex as a desktop app. In the process I also got the Adobe Kuler APIs tied in to this application. I call this experiment colrful desktop.

Feel free to test drive this application and tell me what you think. There are plenty of bugs in it, since I have spent very little (read that as nothing) effort in testing this out. Its a fun app, so go ahead, play with some colors, find images and save them to your desktop. All in a seamless work flow.

Features at a glance

  1. Select colors from the palette and search. You will get images matching that color (Results restricted to 25 in the preview build)
  2. Search for themes in Adobe Kuler, select a theme and you will get search results matching that theme.
  3. Paste the URL of your favorite image in the web and colrful will look up similar images from the web 🙂
  4. Preview the image of your choice from the search results and download it to your desktop. Just a couple of clicks 🙂

Coming soon:

A whole lot of offline stuff, which I am currently working on.

I haven’t gotten a whole lot of time setting up install badge for this one (and wordpress wont let me embed it here anyways. grrr)

A special word of thanks goes to my colleague and sr evangelist Ramesh Srinivasaraghavan for all the value added features. He is the ultimate idea machine!

You need Adobe AIR runtime to use colrful. If you dont have AIR, get it here

Download and Install colrful desktop from here

Stay colrful!

Start kuler

results

alike

view

5 Responses to "First Preview – colrful desktop"

great work! You totally have to share the source for that excellent piece of work.

Out of curiosity – the skin on the app… is that the kingnare skin, or one you drummed up yourself?

Good stuff!

@Jon:

Thanks a lot! I will surely get the code out once I get this whole thing a little more stable.

Its indeed kingnare skin, with some minor tweaks from my side..

stay colrful!

Something weird with my IE, for some reason always download a .zip and I have to change the extension to .air… but I already installe and is very cool!!

@mmartin:

Interesting. I must fix this then – A better idea is to get an install badge done. Thanks for installing, I am glad you liked it.

[…] to work. Since I think something may be wrong with my ISP, I hope you’ll be able to play with colrful, because this is something some people will really enjoy, and I don’t want to keep it aside […]

Leave a comment

Categories